When a "Blocked Site" is listed, has it been accessed?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Answered
Is a blocked site on the report been accessed ?
Photo of Debbie Marksberry

Debbie Marksberry

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • unsure

Posted 8 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Alaina

Alaina

  • 259 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Official Response
With the search section each time it pulls up a page of results those results are rated. Because the results are different on each page one page may rate 'E' while another may rate 'MT'. As an example, we'll say page 1 of the results has that 'E' rating while page 3 has an 'MT' rating. Assuming the filter is set to a teen rating, it would allow page one to show, but not page 3. That is why some pages from the same search will show as blocked and others as not.

The 'Blocked Sites' section doesn't use highlighting. If it is shown there then it was blocked by the filter and a blocked page message would show up instead of the page they were attempting to access.

I am assuming that you are his Filter Guardian, in which case he would need either your username and password to get past a block page.

The only other way to access blocked pages is to have 'Allow Automatic Overrides' checked in that username's settings. This allows the user to access blocked sites without the Filter Guardian's username and password then adds them to their Allow List. If you are unsure whether this setting has been set, and are indeed the Filter Guardian, you can check it in the 'General Settings and Overrrides' section of the Member Center.