LINE Windows app won't download or upload pictures

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 10 months ago
A guild I'm in uses a social app called LINE for communication. The Android app works fine, but I have now installed the Windows version on two separate Windows 10 PCs, and on both of them, pictures simply will not download or upload. When I open up a chat window, here is what I see:



I've tried restarting the program, restarting my computer, then eventually uninstalling the program and reinstalling. Images continue to not work.

If I click the "Download" action under the image, it says, "Failed to save the file."

If I click the "Keep" action, it says, "A network error occurred."

I have no other debugging info available. Didn't see anything in my Windows Event Viewer either. I assume this must be something having to do with CE's underlying networking or something? Can I fix this?

Thank you.
Photo of John Wa

John Wa

  • 83 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Annelise

Annelise, Official Rep

  • 245 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
Hello John,

Thank you for your post! I apologize for the difficulties you've been experiencing, I know those can be frustrating. Unfortunately we have yet to run into any issues with the LINE Windows app, not to say we don't have issues. I have a few suspicious of what it could be. If you have the filter there could be one or two URLs that are being blocked by our filter. If you do not have the filter we also have a beta version we could try with you.

If you could give us a call at your earliest convenience we would be more than happy to help resolve this issue, 877.479.1119.

Best regards,
Annelise
Photo of John Wa

John Wa

  • 83 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Understood, thanks for the additional information. Do you know if the team is at least aware of the LINE app and possibly looking at making CE compatible with it, if CE is the problem? Just wanting to know if it will eventually be looked at. Thank you.
Photo of Annelise

Annelise, Official Rep

  • 245 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
We do report any new compatibility issues with various programs to our developers. I have yet to hear back from them. Before you install the beta, is it possible you can uninstall CE and check the LINE app to make sure it's a CE compatibility issue? That will be quickest test to determine if it is CE or not, but I have passed along the information to our developers. 

Best regards,
Annelise
Photo of John Wa

John Wa

  • 83 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
@Annelise, I have some additional information. Awhile back, I did uninstall CE and opened the LINE app. All pictures loaded successfully. I reinstalled CE, and the pictures appeared, but within a couple days, the pictures stopped loading again. This same behavior has occurred on two separate Windows 10 computers. I have uninstalled/reinstalled CE on both and loaded 7.3.8 beta on both since the problem began, and both have gone back and forth between loading pictures and not. The majority of the time, pictures do not load. I haven't been able to tell what is different when it works and not, but it always worked without CE installed.

One other note is when I open the settings of the LINE app and go to "Advanced Settings," if I leave the "Enable proxy server" and "Enable proxy verification" boxes unchecked and hit "Proxy Check," it pops up an error that says, "Proxy protocol error: 403." Does that mean anything? It's like the LINE app simply cannot communicate with the server, but only for media files loaded through the app.
Photo of Annelise

Annelise, Official Rep

  • 245 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
Hello John,

I'm so sorry you're still experiencing issues with the LINE app. At this point we do have an older version of our software we could take you back to that I'm pretty positive with resolve the conflict. In order for a future version to be compatible with LINE I would suggest contacting our Customer Service so we can get logs from your computer to pass along to developers. At the time of the call we can also take you to that older version that should fix the problem.

Our Customer Service can be reached at 877.479.1119 and are available Monday-Friday 8am-11:45pm EST and Saturday 10am-5:45pm EST.

We look forward to hearing from you
Best regards,
Annelise
Photo of John Wa

John Wa

  • 83 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
@Annelise, I spoke with a rep this morning, and she helped me install v7.2.43, and at least for now, the LINE app is downloading media again. Last time I installed CE, it worked at first, then stopped, so we'll see if v7.2.43 fixes it completely or not. Thank you.