Android security alert "Exposing sensitive info during casting/recording"

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 months ago
A user with a Galaxy Note 10 has reported that they are frequently receiving security alerts with the following message:

"Exposing sensitive info during casting/recording"
"While recording or casting, Covenant Eyes can capture any sensitive information that is displayed on your screen or played from your device, including sensitive information such as audio, password, payment info, photos and messages."



The alerts appear when casting to Google Chromecast or when entering in payment information while shopping online. In one instance, the alert appeared every 5 seconds while making a purchase online. Regarding casting, it has occurred while casting through Netflix, but not while casting through YouTube.

I found this online, indicating that this is an issue with some other apps online.
https://support.google.com/android/thread/13791498?hl=en

Any explanation for why the alert appears while entering payment information while shopping online?

Any way to disable the alerts?
Photo of Antoine Diot

Antoine Diot

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Robert B

Robert B, Official Rep

  • 541 Posts
  • 51 Reply Likes
Antoine,

Thanks for reaching out. First of all, it sounds like you're speaking up for someone who is running into the issue. Thanks for helping out others, and please feel free to have him/her contact us directly. 

Whether it's you or someone else, the first step would be to upgrade the Covenant Eyes (CE) app. There is a bug in the Google system that doesn't always tell people that an upgrade is available. Google is working on that. So if the member will uninstall and reinstall, they'll have the latest version of CE.

But I'll explain why that might not "fix" this exact issue: On Android 9 and earlier, this message would come up when another app was trying to take the screen casting away from CE. However, those versions of Android had a check box which made it possible to not see the message again. Android 10 removed that check box. Now that message will appear every time an app tries to use the screen casting function.

So the member might be experiencing this as an unfortunate result of Google's decision to remove a check box. And, unfortunately, there's no way to fix that.

If the member's phone is using Android 9 or earlier, and still sees the message after upgrading CE, please have him/her contact us via chat or phone (989.720.8000). A member of the Customer Service team would be happy to take a closer look.

Thanks again for helping others! Blessings,

Robert